Monday, September 26, 2022

WATCH DART'S LIVE ASTEROID IMPACT TONIGHT

 Hey Space Placers!

Hello from Queen Mary 2 in the Atlantic Ocean enroute to Canada.

TONIGHT NASA's Double Asteroid Redirect Test (DART) will impact an asteroid at 7:14 PM EDT.

You can watch this LIVE:

5:30 p.m. EDT (21:30 UTC):  Live feed from the DART spacecraft as it approaches asteroid Didymos

6 p.m. EDT (22:00 UTC): Live broadcast coverage of the DART mission as the spacecraft attempts to deflect an asteroid from its path (impact targeted for 7:14 p.m. EDT)

8 p.m. EDT (24:00 UTC): NASA’s Double Asteroid Redirection Test (DART) post-impact press briefing

There is also a European Space Agency (ESA) follow up mission called Hera that will inspect the impact crater and gather up close information.

Ground and space based telescopes will be watching the collision as well so stay tuned for some interesting images.

Sky Guy in VA

Wednesday, September 21, 2022

JWST IMAGES NEPTUNE

Hey, Space Placers!


 Webb’s Near-Infrared Camera (NIRCam) image of Neptune, taken on July 12, 2022, brings the planet’s rings into full focus for the first time in more than three decades.

The most prominent features of Neptune’s atmosphere in this image are a series of bright patches in the planet’s southern hemisphere that represent high-altitude methane-ice clouds. More subtly, a thin line of brightness circling the planet’s equator could be a visual signature of global atmospheric circulation that powers Neptune’s winds and storms. Additionally, for the first time, Webb has teased out a continuous band of high-latitude clouds surrounding a previously-known vortex at Neptune’s southern pole.

NIRCam was built by a team at the University of Arizona and Lockheed Martin’s Advanced Technology Center.

Credits:

IMAGE: NASA, ESA, CSA, STScI 
IMAGE PROCESSING: Joseph DePasquale (STScI) 

Most INCREDIBLE image in over 30 years!

Read all about it!!!

Sky Guy in VA


Sunday, September 18, 2022

JWST VIEWS THE ORION NEBULA

 Hey Space Placers!!


Orion Nebula in My Telescope For Comparison

Greg Redfern

See the famous Orion Nebula as JWST does in these amazing photos.

Orion is easily visible now in the sky well before dawn.

Sky Guy Greg


Tuesday, September 13, 2022

Friday, September 9, 2022

NASA WORKING TO NEW LAUNCH DATE

 Hey, Space Placers!

NASA’s Space Launch System (SLS) rocket is seen at Launch Pad 39B Thursday, Sept. 8, 2022, at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida as teams work to replace the seal on an interface, called the quick disconnect, between the liquid hydrogen fuel feed line on the mobile launcher and the rocket.  Photo Credit: NASA/Chad Siwik

Work Area On Artemis I At Pad 39-B

Credit:NASA

NASA is hopeful to do a cryogenic test on the pad 9/17 that'll if successful could lead to a possible launch date of 9/23. Latest here.

Sky Guy in VA